Lesson of the Day: Never Get Too Comfortable

Last week, I had my end of year review with my supervisor. She stated that ultimately I was a great asset to the team, but what I had become was what she dreaded that most employees do. Comfortable.

Intrigued to hear her elaboration of this matter, she stated that when I first came on I was an “eager beaver.” And within the past couple of months, my work ethic has done a full 180°. I was no longer fully engaged in meetings and my natural inquisitive persona had fell at the wayside.

131fa4ba_edit_img_facebook_post_image_file_14344989_1436466512_HGQ9UB.fbshare

I hate to admit that she was right. While I am desperately trying to work on this in my everyday life, I was ashamed that it had also effected my work. Not to make excuses for my behavior, but my job holds no future. Thus me getting comfortable in a job that won’t translate to a career.

A month ago, a friend sent me an article titled, You Should Plan On Switching Jobs Every Three Years For The Rest Of Your Life. The article basically states that job hoppers are thought to have a higher learning curve because they are constantly out of their comfort zone. And I have to say that I agree.

Then I thought, when was the last time I stepped outside my comfort zone. Did it have a positive impact on my life? And I honestly, couldn’t think of a time. I love security. I love the warm feeling it gives me that I know what to expect. But what if I dared to be different more than once?

So, I have added this to my list of many things to change about myself. I am going to push myself out of my comfort zone. I am going to say yes more. Things I never thought to try or do, I will. I never want to feel complacent in my life. I still have so much to learn. What better time than now right?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ashleigh says:

    This is a great post! I’m going through the same thing at my current workplace. I’ve been hearing a lot about millennials and the change in job habits for a while now. The notion that job hopping keeps the mind fresh makes complete sense. Plus, there are many ol’ skool folks who think that generation y and later are really bad with money. But, they don’t take into account that they messed up the economy royally. Let me get off this tangent before it gets super off topic.

    So, I decided a while back to restart my pursuit of my B.A. in Management and Marketing. I’m thinking it will definitely help with my own business goals. In class, my teacher told us to review a Ted Talks video that would pertain to business communication. We used Richard St. John’s 8 Secrets of Success. It was a great message to light my hair on fire and now you just threw on some gasoline.

    I think it is time to take more risks and get more skills. Just like in art, if we don’t use them we lose them and there is no good in that.

    Oh, here’s a link to that Ted Talk if you want to check it out: https://www.ted.com/talks/richard_st_john_s_8_secrets_of_success

    Like

    1. Tarreva says:

      Glad to help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

